Edinburgh to Alabama

Image

My last week in Scotland was busy. My mom and I went to London for three days and had a fabulous time. On the first day we visited Oxford Street and shopped around. That night we went to a performance of Agatha Christie’s “The Mousetrap”. The acting was great and I was entertained the entire time. The next day was really wet and rainy so we passed the time in Harrod’s. I’m pretty sure we spent about five hours in the store and didn’t even come close to exploring the whole place. You could probably spend five hours in the food court let alone. On our last day we headed back towards the West End and explored Soho and Covent Garden. Soho is by far my favorite area of London. I love the mix of shops, restaurants, and theatres.

Image

Back in Edinburgh, we made sure to check off some other must do activities such as visiting Leith and Princes Street Gardens. On our last day, we finally got around to going to Holyrood Palace. We chose the perfect day as there was a military parade scheduled. It was so cool to see all the bagpipers and men in uniform march into the palace. After Holyrood, we headed back to the flat to pack and clean. Once we had our four suitcases and two carry-ons packed, it was time for dinner. We decided to have our last meal at our favorite pub, The World’s End. It was the perfect last meal. 

Image

Image

As the title suggests, I am back in Alabama. My mom and I got home just before midnight on June 1st. Slowly but surely I am adjusting to the time change and Alabama heat. While it feels good to be home, I will always hold a special place in my heart for Edinburgh. I will especially miss how you can literally walk everywhere there. This past semester was incredible. It was everything I imagined and more. I made lifelong friends and grew up so much. Studying abroad was one of the best decisions I ever made.Image

Leave a comment