An Edinburgh Easter

Image

St. Giles’ Interior Panorama (Credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Easter! This was my first time to celebrate a holiday without my family. Although it made me sad, I made the most of it with the friends I have made while studying abroad. 

Image

St. Giles’ Exterior (Credit: Internet)

This morning I attended an Easter service at St. Giles’ Cathedral on the Royal Mile with my friends, Ivy and Jenny. St. Giles’ is considered the “Mother Church of Presbyterianism” and dates back to the 14th century. I had never been to St. Giles before so I figured Easter would be a great time to visit. I was right. The church was decorated with beautiful spring flowers and yellow banners. The lighting was also amazing thanks to the sun shining through the stained glass windows. The very beginning of the service was definitely my favorite part. The cathedral was silent and then all of a sudden the choir started to sing. The choir was in a different part of the sanctuary so you couldn’t see them. All you could focus on was their powerful voices being carried throughout the sanctuary. It gave me the chills. If you ever find yourself visiting Edinburgh, definitely attend a service at St. Giles.

 

After the service I headed over to Jenny’s flat to meet friends for a late Easter lunch. We made the lunch potluck style and each brought a dish. My contribution was smoked salmon pinwheels and orange juice and champagne for mimosas. We also had roasted carrots and parsnips, roasted asparagus, egg salad, potatoes boulangere, rolls shaped like bunnies, brownies, and plenty of Easter candy. Everything was delicious and I couldn’t ask for better friends to celebrate Easter with.

Image

Easter Lunch Minus Jenny & Yvonne (Credit: Jenny)

 

The next couple of weeks are going to be crazy so my posts are going to be even more sporadic. This coming up week is our last week of classes and then I am off to France, Italy, and the Isle of Skye for Spring Break. Once I return it will be time for exams! Fortunately, I have three weeks free of exams so I am going to squeeze in a few more trips before my mom comes in mid-May.

 

 

Leave a comment